Monday, Monday

(Yes, this is a very boring post title, probably for a very boring blog post. I apologize.)

Over the weekend we stayed home and the girls continued to work on a lot of their homeschooling projects: M weaved yarn on her loom; both girls played the spider addition game a few more times; M did apple tree math again; they made Halloween necklaces and a counting autumn leaves book; they played games and did puzzles with Dada; and just simply played a lot too. After having a few busy weekends in a row, I loved having a lazy weekend at home to watch Badger football, go for a quick hike, catch up on housework, and finally get motivated to start making the Halloween costumes. But since the weekend looked very similar to a normal homeschooling day (minus the speech class or field trip), I decided to take it easier today.

  • The morning started off with too much television. Normally the girls will watch up to an hour of tv in the morning, so I can either keep the toddler asleep longer, or just take some time waking up myself. (It will be so nice when I can get 7-8 hrs sleep straight, but I’m far from that stage right now, so waking slowly is how I cope.) But boy did I pay for it later! Whenever I let the girls watch a lot of tv (this morning was 2.5 hours), it seems that M is crabby to her sisters and me throughout the day. I actually put M in her room by the end of the day, so she could have space to compose herself. I usually don’t parent this way, so I was feeling stretched a little thin at this point.
  • Then we went out to the fabric store to get the little bit of fabric I needed to finish the girls’ costumes. M was insistent that we run this errand today, so I can finish them asap.
  • The girls bought some Halloween-colored pipe cleaners for themselves at the fabric store, so they played with those, mostly making bracelets and stuff.
  • I cut up some pipe cleaners and placed them in a plastic bottle so the girls could explore them with the magnet.
  • I also made a pipe cleaner toy for the toddler; gave her some small pipe cleaners and a basket, so she could put them in the holes. I wasn’t sure if she was ready for this or not, but she loved it! She carried it around and played with it for about 20 minutes straight.
  • C worked on her ABC book, this time letters E and F. Each week she looks forward to adding to her book, but today she wasn’t very interested in actually doing much of it, even the coloring.
  • M wrote a letter to her grandma. This is the first letter she’s written that she really wrote sentences that made sense to the person she was writing too (usually M will just randomly mention something about her life; today she chose to ask the grandma questions about her recent trip and then tell her something in her life that was relevant to that trip).
  • M also played the snakes and ladders game, and this time I added words that she’s never read before, and she read them. She is still intimidating about reading a book, though.
  • Both girls did some computer play, but every week that they do this, M always has a little fit at the end, wanting to do more. Perhaps I need to be giving them more access to computer games. C plays games on my phone during speech classes, and both girls play either on the phone or Ipad on the weekends. Anyway, I think giving them more access will wait until after we move (and I can have a computer space designated for them) or after they get their own Ipad.
  • M decided that she was going to marry a princess today, so she spent time making invitations and decorations, and preparing the wedding ceremony and reception (tea and cookies, anyone?). Apparently the ceremony will be starting soon.
  • We all made cookies together. Both girls got to crack an egg. I told each girl to throw the shell in the trash and wash their hands. When C went to throw hers away, she completely crumbled the shell in her hands. This is so typical-C, always seeking those sensory moments out. It made me smile, and I realized this was the first time that I had them throw out their own egg shells, and will be doing that from now on.
  • M and I put together the skeleton puzzle; M was able to do the head and upper body all by herself. This puzzle is challenging, even for me, and I always get stressed out while doing it and fending off toddler and C from destroying it. I always get a little bit snippy, which just makes me feel worse. I guess it’s a good moment for me to work on my mindfulness. Or maybe I need to be doing this puzzle only when the toddler is napping.

I really thought we wouldn’t be doing much today, but it sure seems like we did!

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "Living is learning and when kids are living fully and energetically and happily they are learning a lot, even if we don't always know what it is. " - John Holt
  • LipperLoppy? what???

    “LipperLoppy” is a word that my daughters invented. It is usually used as a silly adjective or noun. It's a frequent family joke and a good representation of our family's crazy joyful life.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Post Categories

  • Archives

  • check out other homeschoolers!

