Wax and Wane

One of my favorite things about homeschooling is the natural wax and wane that my family is allowed to experience with structured learning. The spring started out with a lot of structured, mama-directed learning, and ended with less structure and lots of living life to the fullest. These last few weeks we have been hiking a lot, viewing the eclipse, playing with friends, planting gardens, enjoying increased outdoor play and water play, watching the littlest go from first steps to fully walking, and more daily family reading.

My 5-yr-old recently has become alive with questions about her world, and this is an exciting development that I have waited for (I’ve always wondered how much her speech disorder was holding her back). So we have been discussing blood coagulation, camera memory cards, wolf packs, and death (it’s been over a year since my midwife passed away and she is now asking questions about her). I am excited to see my eldest’s self-directed learning develop; it’s going to be a fun year!

We are going to dip back into some structured activities later this week. But I think it’s always important for me to recognize how much the children (and I) learn just from living our lives fully.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "Living is learning and when kids are living fully and energetically and happily they are learning a lot, even if we don't always know what it is. " - John Holt
  • LipperLoppy? what???

    “LipperLoppy” is a word that my daughters invented. It is usually used as a silly adjective or noun. It's a frequent family joke and a good representation of our family's crazy joyful life.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Post Categories

  • Archives

  • check out other homeschoolers!

